logo pupil progress at St george is in the top 2% nationally and among the top 100 of 6,382 schools across the uk  

The History of Saint George Catholic College

front of school lathe



Saint George first opened its doors on 8th September 1958.as a secondary school for boys and girls in Southampton and the surrounding area. The school was officially opened onSaint George's Day, April 23rd 1959 by John Henry King, Bishop of Portsmouth. By 1961-2 the the number of pupils had risen to over 600 as the school earnt a reputation for excellent standards of education. By the 1970's the decision was made that the school was to become a boys only school as it remains to this day.

The original building still forms the hub of Saint George although extensive refurbishment and the creation of new buildings has benefitted students greatly in recent years. Students now enjoy a superb new sports block with excellent space and facilities. The same new buiding also houses specialist Art, Music and Drama classrooms.

An outstanding feature of the college is the extensive on-site sports fields giving unrivalled access to sporting activities. Saint George has an enviable reputation in sport and our achievements have recently been recognised in being granted Specialist Sports College status in 2010.

In 2009 and 2010 Saint George enjoyed excelent GCSE results and continues to deliver a high standard of education in the Southampton area. Today the college is open to students of other faiths who are able to benefit from being part of a small, friendly community where individuals are encouraged to develop their unique talents.

View historic photographs